All state guides

Ohio · state guide

Starting and running a small school in Ohio

Three statuses, and the one you pick decides everything — including whether you can take EdChoice at all.
10 cited requirements · 6 dated deadlines · 19 sources. Every claim is as of , the oldest reading date on this page.

In short

Ohio has three statuses for a small school and the difference between them is decisive: chartered nonpublic, non-chartered nonpublic (an “08 school”), and home education. A non-chartered school files one annual certification by 30 September and answers to almost nothing — but it cannot participate in EdChoice at any price. Home education was rewritten in 2023 and is now a single notification with no assessment, portfolio, or record retention duty at all.

How Ohio classifies a school like yours

This is the fork everything else hangs off. Get it wrong and every deadline below is the wrong set of deadlines.

  • Chartered nonpublic school

    Holds a state charter and meets the Operating Standards in OAC ch. 3301-35. More reporting, staff credential files, criminal records checks by name — and the only status that can take EdChoice.

    OAC 3301-35-09; OAC 3301-35-05 · last read 20 July 2026

  • Non-chartered nonpublic school (an “08 school”)

    No charter. Minimum standards in ORC 3301.0732 and OAC 3301-35-08: an annual certification of compliance, pupil reporting to the district treasurer, bachelor's-degree teachers, and applicable health, fire and safety law. Cannot take EdChoice.

    OAC 3301-35-08; ORC 3301.0732 · last read 28 July 2026

  • Home education

    Rewritten by HB 33 of the 135th General Assembly, effective 3 October 2023. The former administrative rules at OAC ch. 3301-34 — the notification packet, curriculum outline, and annual academic assessment — no longer exist.

    ORC 3321.042 · last read 20 July 2026

The requirements, each cited to its source

10 requirements, grouped by the kind of duty they are. Each links to the statute, rule or agency document it was read in, with the date it was read there.

What the statute requires

  • Background re-checks are due by 5 September every five years — and do not cover volunteers

    ORC 3319.39 binds all chartered nonpublic schools by name, not just scholarship participants: a BCI check plus FBI unless a narrow exception applies, for every applicant for any position, and you may not employ someone before fingerprints are taken. ORC 3319.391 then requires a re-check every five years, due by 5 September, for non-licensed employees and contractors with routine child interaction. It expressly does not apply to volunteers, including parent classroom volunteers — a distinction schools get backwards in both directions.

    ORC § 3319.39(A); § 3319.391(A) · last read 20 July 2026

  • Ohio home education now has no assessment, portfolio, or retention duty at all

    Send the district superintendent a notification within five calendar days of starting — parent's name and address, the child's name, and an assurance the child will receive education in the required subject areas — then by 30 August each year after. The exemption takes effect immediately on receipt, and the superintendent must acknowledge within 14 calendar days. There is no statutory requirement for standardized assessment, an academic assessment report, a portfolio, a curriculum outline, a materials list, or any teacher qualification for the parent.

    Where this is unsettled: Any guidance still describing an annual academic assessment report is describing superseded law. The one document worth keeping is the superintendent's acknowledgment for the student's final year, because state guidance advises pairing it with a home-education diploma used for employment or college admission — though no statute sets a retention period.

    ORC 3321.042 · last read 20 July 2026

What you file, and with whom

  • The non-chartered certification is filed “on or before the thirtieth day of September of each year”

    OAC 3301-35-08(A) requires the school to certify to parents, in a report, that it meets the minimum education standards, and to file a copy with the Department of Education and Workforce on or before 30 September. The state's guidance describes a filing window running 1 July to 30 September. This one filing is substantially the whole of a non-chartered school's annual duty to the state.

    OAC 3301-35-08(A); ORC 3301.0732 · last read 28 July 2026

  • Pupil names go to the district treasurer in the first two weeks of the year

    OAC 3301-35-08(C) requires an attendance report with the name, age, and place of residence of each pupil below eighteen, made within the first two weeks of the beginning of each school year, with mid-year entrances and withdrawals reported within the first week of the next school month. The legal duty sits on the parent; the school may file on the parent's behalf as a convenience — which most do, and then forget whose duty it was.

    OAC 3301-35-08(C)(1)–(2) · last read 28 July 2026

What you have to keep

How this part is kept in Pearspark: attendance is a register per school year, immunizations are tracked against the list your state sets, enrollment and withdrawal dates sit on the student record, and each student's permanent records stay retrievable by the family and by a receiving school even if the school closes. How records work.

  • A visible “missing child” banner on an export would breach the statute while trying to comply with it

    Section 3313.672(D) expressly binds “a public or nonpublic school,” and the mark it requires must be covert: when records are forwarded, the receiving school must be “unable to discern” they were ever marked, and any request must be reported to law enforcement immediately. Note the trigger is permissive — § 2901.30(D) says police “may notify” — so you can be unaware of a report about your own pupil, and you have no duty to go looking.

    ORC § 3313.672(D); trigger § 2901.30(D) · last read 20 July 2026

  • Every safety drill needs a written record of its date and time

    ORC 3737.73 applies to a public or private school with average daily attendance of 20 or more: at least six fire or rapid-dismissal drills a year (nine without smoke detection or sprinklers), tornado safety instruction, at least three school safety drills, and one theoretical drill for staff. Written certification goes annually to the local police chief or county sheriff. The threshold means a 19-student microschool is outside it and a 21-student one is not.

    ORC § 3737.73 · last read 20 July 2026

  • Request a new student's official records within 24 hours, and call the police at 14 days

    ORC 3313.672 expressly says “public or nonpublic school”: collect prior school records and birth certification at initial entry, and request official records within 24 hours. If the records are not received within 14 days of the request, the principal notifies law enforcement of a possible missing child. This is a duty most schools discover only when a record fails to arrive.

    ORC 3313.672 · last read 20 July 2026

School-choice program conditions

  • A non-chartered school cannot take EdChoice at any price

    ORC 3310.10 allows a scholarship to pay tuition only at a chartered nonpublic school, and OAC 3301-11-11(A)(1) requires you to represent that you hold a valid charter under ORC 3301.16. There is no waiver and no provisional route. If scholarship revenue is in your financial model, the charter is not optional — it is the first decision, and it changes your Operating Standards, credential files, and background-check obligations along with it.

    ORC § 3310.10; § 3310.01(A); OAC 3301-11-11(A)(1) · last read 20 July 2026

  • Twenty unexcused-absence days ends a scholarship student's eligibility

    OAC 3301-11-11(A)(4) requires “sufficient student attendance recordkeeping procedures, including processes for documentation of excused absences,” and ORC § 3310.03(D)(3) ends eligibility after more than 20 unexcused-absence days in a year. So the excused/unexcused distinction is not administrative hygiene — it decides whether the money continues. You must also disenroll a scholarship student as soon as you determine they will not return, recording the last date they actually attended, because payment is prorated to that date.

    OAC 3301-11-11(A)(4), (A)(8); eligibility ORC § 3310.03(D)(3) · last read 20 July 2026

  • Tuition rates file by 30 June — and you may not ask a family about poverty status at admission

    Next year's tuition rates go to the Department annually by 30 June, and if you charge families above the scholarship amount you must report how many and the average charged. You may not charge a family at or below 200% of the federal poverty level more than the scholarship — and you may not ask about that status at admission, which means the pricing rule has to be enforced after the fact rather than at the gate.

    ORC § 3310.13(A), (C), (E), (G) · last read 20 July 2026

The dates

Most of these bind only some schools, so read the “applies to” line before putting one in your calendar. Several bind the family rather than the school.

  • On or before 30 September

    Annual certification of compliance with minimum education standards, filed with the Department of Education and Workforce.

    Applies to:
    Non-chartered nonpublic schools
    If it slips:
    The school's standing as a lawful non-chartered school.

    OAC 3301-35-08(A) · last read 28 July 2026

  • First two weeks of the school year

    Report each pupil's name, age, and place of residence to the district treasurer; entrances and withdrawals within the first week of the next school month.

    Applies to:
    Non-chartered nonpublic schools, filing for parents
    If it slips:
    Compulsory-attendance exposure for the family, whose duty it legally is.

    OAC 3301-35-08(C)(1)–(2) · last read 28 July 2026

  • 30 June

    Next year's tuition rates to the Department, with the number of families charged above the scholarship amount and the average charged.

    Applies to:
    EdChoice-participating chartered nonpublic schools
    If it slips:
    Program participation.

    ORC § 3310.13(A), (C) · last read 20 July 2026

  • 5 September, every five years

    Criminal records re-check for non-licensed employees and contractors with routine child interaction.

    Applies to:
    Chartered nonpublic schools
    If it slips:
    Statutory non-compliance for the school.

    ORC § 3319.391(A) · last read 20 July 2026

  • Within five business days of a change; 30 days before a grade-level change or location closure

    Report a change of location, ownership, name, merger, or annex.

    Applies to:
    Chartered nonpublic schools
    If it slips:
    Charter standing.

    OAC 3301-35-09 · last read 20 July 2026

  • Within five calendar days of starting, then by 30 August annually

    Home education notification to the district superintendent.

    Applies to:
    Home education families
    If it slips:
    The exemption from compulsory attendance takes effect on receipt, so a late notification leaves a gap.

    ORC 3321.042 · last read 20 July 2026

The school-choice money, and what taking it costs you

Ohio EdChoice Scholarship Program (traditional and expansion)

What it pays

The Department of Education and Workforce states the scholarship amount as $6,166 for grades K–8 and $8,408 for grades 9–12.

Current-year figures: Ohio Department of Education and Workforce — EdChoice Scholarship Program.

How the money actually moves

Scholarships pay tuition at a chartered nonpublic school. School registration renews every year and the Department's provider page describes it opening in December — but that date comes from the provider page, not from statute or rule, so it can move without a rule change. You must also keep your principal Ohio-licensed and your OEDSR record current.

What a school must be before it can take any

A valid charter under ORC 3301.16 is the threshold condition — a non-chartered school cannot participate at all. Plus attendance recordkeeping with documented excused absences, annual state assessments for each scholarship student with results reported to the Department, and tuition rates filed by 30 June.

Ohio Dept. of Education & Workforce, EdChoice Scholarship Program; ORC § 3310.10; § 3310.14(A); OAC 3301-11-11 · last read 28 July 2026

Checked, and it does not bind you

Duties commonly assumed to reach private schools in Ohio that, read in the source, do not. Knowing what you don't have to do is worth as much as knowing what you do.

  • The child-abuse in-service training duty in ORC 3319.073 binds districts and educational service centers only. It does not reach nonpublic schools.

    ORC § 3319.073 · last read 20 July 2026

  • Staff credential files under the Operating Standards are a chartered-school duty. OAC 3301-35-05 does not apply to non-chartered nonpublic schools.

    OAC 3301-35-05 · last read 20 July 2026

What this page does not answer

The research behind this page recorded what it could not confirm as carefully as what it could. None of the following claims that no requirement exists. Each says that no primary source for one was read.

Open questions

  • Whether the immunization admission rules in ORC 3313.671 bind nonpublic schools specifically — the section applies to schools for which the state prescribes minimum standards and never says “nonpublic,” “chartered,” or “private.” The chain of authority is plausible but is not stated on the face of any source. Confirm locally.
  • The annual immunization summary report to the Ohio Department of Health — the health department's guidance describes it but does not state which school types must submit, and the cited statute contains no summary-reporting provision. Do not attribute this filing to nonpublic schools without confirming.
  • Whether ORC 3321.13 (withdrawal reporting and habitual absence notification) imposes any duty on nonpublic schools — its operative language references district superintendents.
  • Attendance record keeping, as distinct from reporting, by chartered nonpublic schools outside the EdChoice rule — no rule imposing it was located.
  • Chartered nonpublic annual data or enrollment reporting to the state — no primary rule found.
  • Any retention period, in any category, for either mode. Ohio's records-retention scheme is a public-entity regime and no nonpublic analogue was found.

Zoning

Not covered. This research is state statute and administrative rule only, and zoning for a small school is a municipal question: a use classification, an occupancy threshold and a conditional-use process, all set by city ordinance. Rather than extrapolate, we have left it out. Ask your city's planning department which use classification applies to a school of your size in your building.

How to read what is here

  • The EdChoice award figures were read on the Department's own program page on 2026-07-28, not in statute. Scholarship amounts are appropriation-driven and change; re-check the page rather than quoting this file.
  • ORC § 3310.13 is cited from the codes.ohio.gov section page for § 3310.14, which carries the neighboring subchapter text. Confirm the subsection lettering against the § 3310.13 page before quoting it in a filing.

Sources

Every source cited on this page, with the date it was last read.

The rest of the decision, once the rules are settled

Regulation is the first question a founder has and rarely the last.

Another state

8 states are covered so far, chosen on search demand and school-choice program size. The other 42 are not: we would rather leave a gap than publish a page we haven't researched.

The record-keeping half, once you're open

Attendance registers, immunization evidence and permanent records that outlive the school, all included from day one. Your first 30 days are free.